J. Rushworth | Malcolm Bowie Prize | Society for French Studies | 2015

Malcolm Bowie Prize 2015

Jennifer Rushworth (University of Oxford)

‘Derrida, Proust and the Promise of Writing’, French Studies, 69 (2015)


The Society for French Studies is delighted to announce that the winner of the 2015 Malcolm Bowie Prize is Dr Jennifer Rushworth (University of Oxford), for her article: ‘Derrida, Proust and the Promise of Writing’, French Studies, 69 (2015). The Jury offers its congratulations to Dr Rushworth, as well as to all those who were shortlisted.

The Malcolm Bowie Prize is awarded each year to the best article by an early-career scholar in the field of French studies (broadly defined). The Jury for this year’s prize was composed of Prof. Alison Finch; Prof. Mairéad Hanrahan; Prof. John Lyons; Prof. Lydie Moudileno; and Prof. Margaret Topping.

Malcolm Bowie was not only the most eminent and inspirational Anglophone scholar of French literature and theory of his generation, he was a towering figure in the field because of his tireless devotion to the scholarly community both in the UK and abroad, his service to the Society for French Studies offering but one example of this: he was President of the Society from 1994-96, as well as General editor of its journal (French Studies) 1980-87.

Source : fabula / liste francofil